The labourer who loves Allah ‘Azza wa Jalla

In Surah Al Baqarah, Allah speaks about those who love Him despite living in much hardship
I treated Allah badly for the last two years because I could not bear suffering
But Allah made me see a glorious sight at a Mosque in 2013
I walked into the mosque, distraught and angry towards Allah
but I saw a man, in clean but worn out shirt and sarung,
face darkened by much exposure to sunlight,
hands roughened by hard labour
I surmised that he was a labourer
Despite no being well to do
that man was reading the Quran with much love towards Allah
I saw his love and longing for Allah,
His tears were streaming as he read the Noble Quran
What a glorious sight it was
A man living in poverty but reading the Quran with much love towards Allah.

I then looked at myself
Unlike him, I was not a labourer
I was just jobless but I did not have to become a labourer in order to eat
Yet I hated Allah because I could not bear being jobless
That labourer who lacks material wealth compared to me loved Allah more than me!!!
Shame on me!
Berating Allah when I was in difficulty forgetting His Love and Succour

That labourer loved Allah more than me!!!
Oh how cruel I am towards Allah.


